Home » general bookish things » My take on e-books

My take on e-books

My house has always been full of books. In my parents’ house, we have one room almost only dedicated to books, with two long libraries completely covering two walls, a library in my room (where a lot of non-bookish things are stored, and also old school and university books) and a smaller library in the living room. My parents’ libraries are filled with classics, crime, sci-fi, horror books. I’ve read a lot of those, but when I discovered the the YA Fantasy genre, I just knew I was going to have to buy a lot more books. One easy and cheap way to do it was to get a Kindle and start reading digitally, and I think it was the best decision I’ve ever made. The main and immediate benefit was that it got me reading regularly throughout the year instead of just in summer. That doesn’t really really have to with the format, but the fact that it was so easy to get new books I was excited about made it so I could come back home after a long day and read a book instead of spending pointless hours on Facebook. Some of the added benefits of buying e-books are:

  • Again, the price: it ranges from free (most of the classics are) to around max. 9,99€. That’s really cheap and if you’re on a budget it means you can buy more books than you would buying paperbacks or hardcovers;
  • Portability: no matter where you go, you can take your whole library with you;
  • If you’re a mood reader like me, you’ll find yourself discovering a book on goodreads and wanting to start it right now. If you order it in e-book format you can do just that without having to wait for the DHL guy to come to your house;
  • Same thing goes for preorders: your e-book will be delivered to your device at midnight so you can pull that all-nighter before your friends can even hope to start reading it the next morning (they probably won’t anyway because Poste Italiane won’t deliver it on time);
  • You don’t have to hold the book open. No, I’m serious, I love reading paper books, and if they’re in hardcover it’s kind of easy to keep them open, but it’s so difficult with paperbacks and you end up ruining them. You don’t have to worry about that with e-books, and if you can place your device on a surface (I usually have it on a pillow on my lap) you can keep both hands free to drink that tea or eat those cookies. Or both.

A couple of things that I miss about physical copies are being able to go back (or forward) to a certain page easily and not being able to actually touch and look at my books.

I will get around to buying my favorites in a hardcopy version eventually. Since I’m hoping to move out soon (and go far away) it won’t happen until I’m all set in the new place.

What is your opinion on e-books?

2 thoughts on “My take on e-books

Leave a Reply

