Home » favorites » Favorite bookish fandoms

Favorite bookish fandoms

There are many books and series that I love and will stay in my heart forever, but I feel like some fandoms are more active than others, and there’s nothing I like more than to relive the feelings I had while reading something by seeing amazing fanart pieces or reading some smutty fanfic. Here’s a list of the books whose fandoms get me squealing and gushing on twitter and IRL:

  • 51ab2bfjpusl-_sx332_bo1204203200_Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat: I love this fandom and it’s one of the rare cases when I can genuinely say “this is my absolute favorite”. There are amazing fanart pieces out there and I feel the need to always RT or pin them whenever I see some new ones. Moreover, I feel a real connection to other fans of this work, because I think it takes some sensibility, intelligence and open mind to appreciate it, as well as a more analytical approach to the reading experience. If I know you’re a fan of Captive Prince, you’re already on my list of humans beings deemed worthy of my (real or imagined) friendship. Just saying. Also, C.S. Pacat is an amazing woman and writer, and she always replies if you ask her something or even just mention her on twitter and tell her how much you love her work.

tog-nyt-cover17742555-_sy540_

  • Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas: This is a much bigger and broader fandom than the previous one I mentioned. I wasn’t sure I should mention it in this list because I feel like there are a few problems within it: from death threats sent to the author because of her latest release, Empire of Storms, to fans not being willing to hear anything negative about the author’s work. The first I don’t even consider real fans, and the latter I think are just plain childish. No author or book is without flaws, and even if you find it perfect, you need to be able to understand that someone can still point out what works or doesn’t work for them without it affecting the value of it. I myself adore SJM but I recognize there are some flaws within her books, and that’s okay. Those flaws exist and they don’t affect my overall reading experience. Ultimately I feel like most of the fans think the same way I do, and this fandom is such a big part of my daily online experience that I couldn’t not mention it here. The quantity and variety of fanart and tumblr posts and blogs is astounding and it’s a great fix for your book hangovers.

the-raven-boys

  • Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater: Another great fanart-filled fandom! I love how fans really focus on the amazing characters that Stiefvater created. This four-books series is indeed very character-driven and the protagonists feel real in a way few other characters from other works do. The plot is by no means perfect, but my overall enjoyment while reading this series was so high that I couldn’t bring myself to care about the flaws. Like with Captive Prince, I feel like the fans are very sensitive people to really appreciate all the nuances of the single characters. Again, amazing fanart too for this series and MUST RETWEET ALL OF IT!

23437156

  • Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo: Where amazing, well-rounded characters meet amazingly complex and beautifully written story. This duology was just recently wrapped up and I also only recently read it. I found great people in the fandom and again, I feel an instant connection with them. I’ve seen some seriously gorgeous drawings and read some pretty nice fluffy fanfic (especially about one particular ship).

air-awakens-cover-only-7-22-sm

  • Air Awakens by Elise Kova: This is a still small fandom, but it’s growing and it’s already quite big for being an independently published work. The story and the characters are so compelling that they’re bound to capture your heart and mind so that you won’t easily forget them. There are a few tragic events in this five-books series that seem to connect fans in that I-know-how-you-feel-bro kind of way. I plan to write a series review about this soon, and I’m so excited for the Golden Guard prequel series coming out next month.

Now I would really like to know: do you have any book recommendations based on fandom alone?

Leave a Reply

