Home » general bookish things » Multiple PoVs?

Multiple PoVs?

Around this time last year I was reading the same book I’m reading right now –Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor. Back then, a few new and weird things were going on in my life, and that’s when The Great Reading Slump of 2k15 happened. I never got to move on to finish that series until now, and I’m enjoying it a lot.

But that’s not what this post is about (I’ll post a series review as soon as I read the third book). As I was reading this morning I started thinking (you know that weird state of mind where you are reading, but you’re also thinking, and by the time you realize you’re doing both you have to go back one page or two because you have no idea what you’ve just read?) -I was saying, I started thinking of how my reading experience has changed in the past year, as I’ve changed too, and I realize I now enjoy some things in books that I didn’t before, and I’m much more aware of why I like the books I do.

Specifically I want to talk about multiple point of views.
Until last year, I’m pretty sure chapters from different PoVs than the main characters’ were met with a little bit of annoyance from my part. Not that I eventually didn’t enjoy them, but the thought was always there, “I wish this chapter was still from the protagonists’ PoV”.
Throughout this year my perception has changed a lot, it seems, to the point where I’m almost annoyed at going back to the protagonist(s)’ PoV. I can’t say it’s always like that, but I think if a book is done right, the secondary characters’ PoVs can be in a way the most interesting ones.

One recent example of this is Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas. The Throne of Glass series started moving heavily towards the multiple PoVs structure since book three, Heir of Fire, and so far each book gets more multiple-pov-y than the previous one. Needless to say this is now one of the things that make me love this series so much. But I was almost annoyed every time the chapter went back to Aelin’s PoV, and I think of the reasons is because I feel like her character, after five books, has stayed pretty much the same. Not that she didn’t have any character development, on the contrary. But she stayed consistent to her personality, her I’m-going-to-do-everything-myself-without-telling-anything-to-anyone, and as much as I love her and care about her (I’m not even going to pretend like that’s not weird, but that’s what we book lovers do), I found myself enjoying discovering new things about old characters’ personalities or way of thinking, or just getting to know completely new characters, much more.
The same can be said about the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, especially in this book I’m currently reading, where many new PoVs are added to the two main ones of book one.

I would like to know: am I the only one that feels like this? Do I have to add it to my weirdness list?

One thought on “Multiple PoVs?

  1. Pingback: This or That Book Tag 2! – icebreaker694

Leave a Reply

