Home » lists » October Wrap Up

October Wrap Up

This has been a weird month for me, because I started doing a couple of things in my free time other than reading, so I feel like I’ve read less than normally. I still did read 8 books + 1 novella, which is not bad at all! Also, I gave 5 stars to almost of them 😮 so I consider this a VERY good month of reading.

Siege and Storm and Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

I read Shadow and Bone as my last September book, so I was marathoning the Grisha trilogy and I  read S&S and R&R in October. I had bought these three books before the summer because I was planning to read Six of Crows and I really wanted to read all the books in the Grisha-verse in the correct order. This turned out to be one the best decisions I’ve made, as I will explain soon.

 

Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Well, these are by far high up in my “All-time favorites” list. I have no words to describe how much I loved these books. The characters, Ketterdam, everything was in a simple word perfect. In retrospect I’m so glad that 1) I didn’t read SoC when it came out last year, because I would have died if I had had to wait for the next one, 2) I read the Grisha trilogy before, despite many people saying it wasn’t necessary. It’s probably not extremely necessary for the first book, but if you venture into Crooked Kingdom and have not read the Grisha trilogy, you’ll really miss out on some very emotional/nostalgic moments.

The Demon in the Wood by Leigh Bardugo
         7bf9b7dfe8-21de-4974-b0ca-9b58ad9e88f37dimg400

This is a short novella, a prequel to the Grisha trilogy, that sees the Darkling as a still young boy, trying to deal with his power. I wouldn’t say it’s necessary to read it, but if the Darkling has captured your heart, you might want to (beware: feelings and nostalgia will ensue).

The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylordaughter-of-smoke-and-bone-series

loved this series so much. I read the first two books last year, but never got to the third one. This year I really wanted to reread those two and finish the series, and I’m so glad I did. I’m still speechless about the sheer beauty of it, but I’ll try to write a series review here on the blog soon. In the meantime, you can check out my individial reviews on goodreads: 
Daughter of Smoke and Bone
Days of Blood and Starlight
Dreams of Gods and Monsters

The Fairy’s Assistant by Sasha L. Miller

thefairysassistant400

Can we take a moment to appreciate this beautiful cover? I was sent this book for reviewing, so I’m going to be talking about it in my next post.

That’s it for this monthly wrap-up! It’s really nice to look back and see how just one month ago I was a really different person than I am now, and how the change can happen just through books. Isn’t that wonderful? 💖

2 thoughts on “October Wrap Up

    • OMG yes read them! I was also super late to the Grisha party but I’m so happy I did! Leigh Bardugo is really one of the most amazing writers out there, and each book is better than the previous one!
      And DOSAB is just a jewel in the YA realm.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

