Home » general bookish things » My rating system

My rating system

Since I’m going to start reviewing books on my blog too, I thought it’d be helpful to copy-paste (sorry but I’m lazy) my rating system from my goodreads page. I know we all have our personal opinion of what a 2-stars or 3-stars book means, so for the sake of not repeating myself over and over in future reviews, I’m just leaving this here. Just note that a book starts being “bad” for me from 2,5 -3 stars down.

★★★★ 5 stars: I absolutely adored this book and I think everyone should read it. This kind of rating often stems from a purely subjective/emotional reason. The book might have flaws but I didn’t care enough about them and they didn’t impact my reading experience.
★★★★✩ 4 stars: I really enjoyed this book! I found some minor flaws that at times made my reading experience slightly annoying, but overall I had an awesome time reading this!
OR: The book was objectively perfect and it had all the elements to be enjoyable but I didn’t feel that spark, that little added something that makes it a 5 stars book for me.
★★★✩ 3 stars: There definitely were flaws that I wasn’t able to overlook. I still enjoyed most of my reading experience but I wished some things were different. OR: I finished this book even though I realized objectively it has no major flaws but it just wasn’t a book for me.
★★✩✩ 2 stars: I didn’t enjoy this book for a number of reason: it was too similar to other books without adding anything to the genre, the characters weren’t well developed and/or weren’t coherent to themselves, there was no character development and/or world building, and so on. I didn’t give it 1 star because I think there might be someone out there (for example an inexperienced reader) who might be able to enjoy it.
★✩✩✩ 1 star: That’s a no-no. I didn’t like it at all, the whole book was a major flop, I wanted to carve my eyeballs out, and I likely couldn’t bring myself to finishing it (DNF). I wouldn’t recommend anyone to read this.

 

One thought on “My rating system

  1. Pingback: Review: The Fairy’s Assistant by Sasha L. Miller | Silvia Reads Books

Leave a Reply

