Home » favorites » #T5W: Favorite Villains

#T5W: Favorite Villains

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started and I discovered through the lovely Samantha‘s videos. I absolutely loved the idea of joining the group and making my own lists. If you’re interested you can join the goodreads group to get the topics for each week.

This week’s topic is favorite villains and I really like it because I feel like we rarely get a chance to talk about villains. Sure, we talk a lot about heroes and anti-heroes, but sometimes villains make the story just as much as the heroes do.

It was suggested that we avoid mentioning any of the Harry Potter villains because they are so many and so well-done that they would dominate every list. So here’s my HP-free list:

5-Jan van Eck (Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom)

I hate his guts. He’s a hateful and ignorant man that only cares about his business and is willing to throw his son away the moment he’s not like he expects him to be. I despise him as a man and most of all as a father.

4-Black Jack Randall (Outlander)

outlander-blue-cover-198x300

I’m slightly cheating since I’ve only seen the TV show and I haven’t actually read the books, but I just couldn’t not include him in this list. He’s a sadistic bastard and I was sick for several days after finishing Season 1 of the show, where he showed his true nature. I don’t think I’ve ever been so shaken by a villain before, and I even admit that I almost regretted having started the show at all. I mean, I’ve read/watched some pretty dark characters in my life, but he beats them all.

3-Manon’s grandmother (Throne of Glass series)

I feel like sometimes villains that have a familial bond to the main characters hit you deeper than others. Families are, after all, a place where you should feel safe and loved. Manon’s grandmother is a witch, and I guess you shouldn’t exactly expect love from her. I mean, the witch society is pretty brutal, but still there should be respect and safety within it. Manon is one of my favorite characters of all times, and her arc and relationship to her grandmother has been building up for two books (Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows) and in Empire of Storms it has reached a point of no return. No spoilers here, but something happened in EoS (chapters 17 and 18 y’all) that shook me hard and made my love for Manon grow even more (I didn’t really think that was possible to be honest).

2-The Regent (Captive Prince series)

51ab2bfjpusl-_sx332_bo1204203200_

Speaking of families. The Regent is Laurent’s uncle and he’s a really disgusting human being. There’s not much else I can say without giving any spoilers away, but even if Laurent wasn’t my favorite character in the entire world (which, he totally is) I’d still hate the Regent with all my being.

1-The Darkling (Grisha trilogy)

I feel weird mentioning the Darkling in this list of disgusting villains. All of the other ones I truly hated, but the Darkling has and will always have a special place in my heart. There are many anti-heroes that I love,  and I gave myself a bit of time to think whether the Darkling might actually be an anti-hero, but no. The Darkling is a villain and he’s the only villain I truly love, and he’s one of two people from the Grisha trilogy that will always stay with me no matter what (the other one being Nikolai). His story has hit me so freaking hard. His immortality and power are what brought him to be a villain. His arc was one of the best things in this series in my opinion, despite us never seeing his point of view. Enduring centuries of hatred and prejudice against his particular type of magic is what made him do what he did, and I believe he truly convinced himself that what he was doing was good.

7 thoughts on “#T5W: Favorite Villains

  1. I love your list! If there was a villain award Black Jack Randall would take first place. And just like you I’ve never read the Outlander books so I know how you feel about watching the tv show first…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, it’s definitely interesting to see your emotional response to such characters! I’ve only met the Darkling so far that has given me this vibe, but I hope I can find some other characters like that 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

