Home » lists » #T5W: Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

#T5W: Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

Phew, I’m so glad this week’s topic specifically says to pick our answers from TV shows too. To be honest I’ve had a hard time with this because almost all of the book series I’ve read so far have actually gotten better with time.

In no particular order:

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

220px-poison_study

I really enjoyed this first book but I remember being extremely disappointed by the next two. They weren’t all bad (there were many things I still enjoyed in the last two books) but there were definitely things that I didn’t enjoy about how the plot developed.

Once upon a time

once_upon_a_time_title_card

I really love this show and I think I enjoy it more when I know the story that it’s trying to retell, so there are some seasons or half-seasons that I enjoy more than others, but other than that I think a lot of the recurring characters’ (those that were there since Season 1) stories are getting old and I don’t enjoy them anymore. Rumpelstiltskin has been going from bad to good to morally grey to definitely bad since the first episode and it’s just boring. If it wasn’t for books occupying all my free time I’d still watch the show (and maybe I will at some point) but right now I can’t bring myself to try watching the newest season.

The Walking Dead

16923352_957x1276

I’ve loved this show a lot in the beginning. I’m not overly-obsessed with zombies (but somehow I’m pretty sure I’ve watched almost all of the zombie movies out there -how did that happen?) but I think the premise in this show was great. I didn’t exactly plan to stop watching this but somewhere along the way I did (I think I’m missing two seasons?), but maybe I’ll try picking it up again.

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

16429619

This series didn’t exactly get worse with each book, but I’m really struggling here to find books that fit. I loved each book from this series, but there’s something about this first book that was too precious and interesting not to be dearly missed in the next two: I’m talking of course about the mystery surrounding who the Prince and who the Assassin were. Of course the reveal needed to happen within this first book, but I have to say it was just too much fun to keep guessing and second-guessing for most of book one. So it’s not that the next books were inherently worse, it’s just that they necessarily lacked this element that I thoroughly enjoyed.

I don’t really have a fifth one (even though I’m sure as soon as I post this I’ll come up at least ten more).

10 thoughts on “#T5W: Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

  1. Man, this was a HARD tag. I had, trouble, too but somehow managed to do 5 book series (pure luck, probably). I completely agree about Once Upon a Time. I eventually DNFed it and lost interest completely.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Agreed with Once Upon a Time. I’d probably only watch series 1 and 4 all the way through and then with the others just watch certain clips I do like. It’s annoying because it has some good storylines but the writers are treating my favourite characters very badly, particularly Belle.

    Liked by 1 person

        • I did too, but as far as I know they tried making her “bad” again this current season, and I just feel like that could be avoided. It feels a lot like “We don’t know what else to do so let’s pick up something we’ve already done in the past.”

          Like

          • From what I’ve sussed, they’ve brought back her bad side to be alongside her redeemed side. I’ve not watched it but I didn’t like the idea. I just wish they’d address characters that they’ve forgotten about from earlier seasons like Ashley, Archie, Aurora, Mulan etc. Apparently this season is trying to replicate the feeling of season one bur from the clips I’ve seen I’m not enamoured by it. I’ll be curious to see how it eventually ends but I think I’ve had enough of it for now.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree about One Upon A Time I liked the first two seasons but after that I started skipping story arcs and now I don’t even watched it. Not huge fan of TWD either (or Zombies in general) I haven’t watched the new season yet but I might skip this season it looks too gruesome for me to handle. And their killing off too many people I’m starting to not even care.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

