Home » adult » #T5W: Favorite Underrated Books

#T5W: Favorite Underrated Books

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started and I discovered through the lovely Samantha‘s videos. If you’re interested you can join the goodreads group to get the topics for each week.

This week’s topic:

January 25th: Favorite Underrated Books 
–Give some love to those books that aren’t as widely talked about. Those hidden gems. Those books that maybe used to be popular but people have forgotten about and they still deserve some love.

In no particular order (links bring to my reviews):

How to Repair a Mechanical Heart, by J.C. Lillis

16102490

Read it. Read it. Read it. Read it. Read it. Read it. Read it. Read it. Read it. Read it. 

Truth in the Dark, by Amy Lane

8262461

Adhhsdhjds read this one too please. 

The Darkest Part of the Forest, by Holly Black

20958632

And then read this while you’re at it. 

Air Awakens, (series) by Elise Kova

air-awakens-cover-only-7-22-sm

This is the only one of these books that I have not reviewed (I will do it whenever I reread it, because I will rearead it) but I absolutely adore this series! It has such a classic fantasy feel to it and yet it feels completely fresh and it has so many different themes. The characters are spectacular and I love every single one of them (that’s not always something to be glad about, because people in this series get hurt for real. All I’m saying is: guard your hearts.)

Daughter of Smoke and Bone, (series) by Laini Taylor

daughter-of-smoke-and-bone-series

I feel like this trilogy is more popular than the other books I mentioned, but I still think it’s not as wildly popular as it should be. I’ve barely seen any booktuber mention it and I don’t really know why, because it deserves to hang out with the popular  books.

I understand why and how some books become more popular than others. That doesn’t take away from their value in my opinion, but I think we bloggers should try to do our best to review what we genuinely want to and try to keep in mind that while reviews for popular books will attract more blog views, it is important to also review books that aren’t as well-known, so that more people can have a chance to find out about them.

14 thoughts on “#T5W: Favorite Underrated Books

    • Oh my god, thank you so much for telling me! I had to write the post a couple of times because wordpress was being buggy and I missed that the link was wrong! I highly recommend HTRAMH, it’s such a sweet and witty book!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I haven’t read Air awakens series yet but I read the alchemists of loom by Elise Kova and I love it ❤ I probably gonna start the series coming feb.Cannot wait to read those.And how to repair a mechanical heart is in my tbr too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

