Home » favorites » #T5W: Current Favorites that Aren’t Books

#T5W: Current Favorites that Aren’t Books

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started and I discovered through the lovely Samantha‘s videos. If you’re interested you can join the goodreads group to get the topics for each week.

This week’s topic:

February 1st: Current Favorites that Aren’t Books
— Sometimes it’s nice to take a break from books and talk about some other things you’ve been obsessed with. These all don’t have to be in the same category. Mix it up! What TV shows have you been enjoying, makeup you’ve been wearing, food you’ve been eating, etc.??

Okay this is going to be fun because, as much as I love talking about books, it’s nice to share something about me other than that. Hopefully it’ll be interesting to read as well!

I just went with the first five things that came to my mind – probably not the most creative post out there but since I like to talk about other things (music, anime etc.) in my monthly wrap-ups (I’m totally behind with my blogging so I still didn’t post my January one! Shame on me!), I decided to exclude those things here.

 

FAVORITE SOCIAL NETWORK(S):

I can’t really decide between Goodreads and Twitter so I’m going to cheat and include them both!
Goodreads is where I can talk extensively about the single books I’m reading and keep track of them; it’s where I found virtual friends with similar bookish tastes who have almost become family by now; it’s where I can write a silly or short review (something I feel like I don’t want to do here on the blog) when a book has left me in such an emotional state that I can’t possibly think of writing a proper review.
Twitter is where I can connect fast and super easily with anyone in the world, be it my favorite authors or random people I found through our common fandoms. Twitter friendships are slightly different than GR ones, but I really am fond of this way of finding new people through fandoms.

FAVORITE MAKE UP:

I haven’t been wearing a lot of make up lately (when I do it’s usually only mascara and sometimes lipstick – I only go for the “full face” look for special occasions), but I recently found these Lush colored lip balms (for half-price!) and I find them such a great option for winter.

img_20170201_140536

You’d think a colored lip balm would offer little color, but these are so pigmented that I have no problem calling them lipsticks. Despite being technically lip balms, they’re not too creamy, which means the colors doesn’t move around too much, but they also offer more moisture than a normal lippie. They’re probably not extremely long lasting, but they do leave a stain for a couple of hours or until you eat, which is something some people hate – I personally don’t mind it since I trust Lush’s ingredients.

FAVORITE WINTER LIFESAVER:

I always get extremely dry hands in winter, and after having gone through endless hand creams to no avail, two years ago I found what works perfectly for me.

img_20170201_151058

Alverde Körperbutter is technically a body butter, but I’ve been using it mostly as hand cream and it’s the only thing I’ve ever found that works in the long run and not just while you’re using it. Also it’s not oily at all so it’s perfect even during the day. The only downside is that it’s only sold in a German drugstore (dm, which is actually also in other countries but sadly not in Italy), so I have to stock up whenever I’m there.

FAVORITE TEA:

I’m a self-declared tea addict and my friend fueled my addiction by giving me this lemongrass black tea for Christmas, which I’ve sadly almost finished already. I’m going to have to buy it again because winter is still long and I need my tea.

FAVORITE FANDOM:

This is a difficult one because I feel like it’s almost a tie between the Captive Prince/All for the Game (I’ll talk about them and why I cound them as one in a minute) and the Yuri!!! On Ice fandoms, but after some consideration I think it’s safe to say that the CP/AFTG one is my favorite one. That is not to say that the YOI one isn’t! It’s my second-favorite after all, but I feel like what makes it great (its size) is also why I can’t put it as #1. Inevitably when there’s so many people in a fandom there has to be someone who doesn’t agree with something or goes overboard (if you’re in the fandom, I’m mostly thinking, for example, of the whole Otayuri ship deal – feel free to ask me for my opinion in a comment because I don’t want to make this post too long and off-topic).
((There’s one thing where I find the YOI fandom better though, and that’s fanfiction! There’s so much of it and there’s something for every taste, so I’m happy I get to mention it here in this blog post too.))
The Captive Prince and All for the Game fandoms are relatively smaller and I count them as one here because often who has read one series has also read and enjoyed the other. And when I say “enjoyed”, I really mean suffered, because these two series are so emotionally painful to get through, especially if you’re alone. Fortunately Twitter and Tumblr are great outlets for one’s feelings during/after these series, because one can see a lot of fanart and there’s literally tons of people (strangers!) ready to help you through them. I have never seen such a supportive fandom, and the fact that often people have read both series means that there’s already a solid base for a virtual friendship, which is awesome!

What are some of your random favorite things lately? If you’ve also written a T5W post leave me a link in the comments, I will check it out for sure ☺

6 thoughts on “#T5W: Current Favorites that Aren’t Books

    • Ahhh yes try them they’re great! Honestly I’m obsessed with everything Lush, if only the products weren’t so expensive 😦 but there was a huge 50% off sale after Christmas and I took advantage of it 😀
      Fandoms and their value is something I’ve started thinking about a lot lately so I really wanted to include them here somehow 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

