Home » general bookish things » #T5W: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

#T5W: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started and I discovered through the lovely Samantha‘s videos. If you’re interested you can join the goodreads group to get the topics for each week.

(Admittedly it’s not Wednesday for my anymore, but I had very little time to write today, and when I did WordPress wasn’t working? I don’t know if I was the only one who had problems, but one way or another here I am at 2am :/)

I could mention specific books that I know would work for me, but I think it’s more useful for me to mention general categories of books that I find the easiest to avoid or get out of reading slumps:

Retellings

I think finding a retelling of a story you love and/or are familiar with is perfect to get you to read when you’re not feeling like it (or more likely when you don’t know what book to start).
An example for this would be Peter Darling by Austin Chant (I feel like I’ll never shut up about this book, sorry not sorry).

Contemporary

Normally I read more in the fantasy genre, but contamporaries are generally easier to read and to get into at first glance. I used to have a problem with them for so long but it turned out it was just a matter of finding the right ones. I generally enjoy LGBTQI+ contemporaries more, just because I find that they (usually) feature less relationship stereotypes and drama, but really it’s just a matter of finding the right author.

Different formats (poetry, manga..)

Looking back at my January wrap-up, I’ve read so many books with formats that are unusual (at least for me). I don’t think I was in a reading slump, but I still felt kind of restless when it came to reading and I just felt like reading manga a lot. I think those are perfect (if you enjoy the genre) to get you out of a slump, and even if you’re like me and can’t read multiple books at the same time, the different format should make it easier for you to pick up more than one book.

Your faves

Rereading our favorites is something we often want to do, but then we see our TBR pile and start a new book instead, almost out of obligation. But there’s nothing worse to get you into a reading slump than picking up something you don’t feel like reading in that moment, so if you feel like you want to reread one of your favorite books you should just go for it.

Anything as a buddy-read

If all else fails and you really want to make a dent in your TBR pile, I suggest you get a reading partner (they’re super easy to find on goodreads, either among your friends or within groups), so that you feel almost obligated to keep reading (or at least to start reading). This probably doesn’t work for everyone and for every kind of book, but I still think it’s worth a try.


 

On another note, I know I haven’t posted much lately (though I try to post something at least once a week), but I’ve really been having a hard time lately with IRL stuff. I won’t apologize for it because 1) I don’t expect anyone to notice with what frequency I do or do not post; 2) I think even the things that we like (in this case blogging) should be set aside when we’re not feeling them or we’re more concerned with more pressing matters. It’s okay to take some time off, and I want this to be a reminder to anyone who might need this (and to myself as well).

2 thoughts on “#T5W: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Leave a Reply

