Home » fantasy » #T5W: Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

#T5W: Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started and I discovered through the lovely Samantha‘s videos. If you’re interested you can join the goodreads group to get the topics for each week.

This week’s topic seems pretty easy, right? And yet here I am cringing because I had to leave out some of my favorites. For the purpose of this post, I only chose fantasy books where magic plays a role. There are other books I adore *coughs*CaptivePrince*coughs* that can be classified as fantasy because they take place in fictional worlds but don’t have magic in them, so I decided to leave them out. *clutches heart*

In no particular order:

Six of Crows

I’m pretty sure everybody has read this series, and it’s one I fell in love with from the first pages of Six of Crows. I not only love the story and the characters, but also I fell in love with the world it’s set in (which I was already familiar with because I read the Grisha trilogy before this).

A Darker Shade of Magic

I finished reading this series not even a week ago but I knew from book one that it was going to be one of my favorites. It has simply everything I look for in a series, and I’m still trying to collect my thoughts in order to write individual reviews on my goodreads and a series review here.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

daughter-of-smoke-and-bone-series

I talked a lot about this series, and I can’t recommend it enough. I loved the writing, the story, the characters, and the way the world(s) in it seemed to expand progressively with each book, thanks to the multiple PoV narrative.

Throne of Glass

tog-nyt-cover

Admittedly, there are a lot of issues with this series. I myself am annoyed with the protagonist and think she hasn’t done nearly enough character development (especially considering that she’s had 6 books to grow), but the fact is that this series has given me so much (and in fact it’s one of the first fantasy series I read in English), and even though I don’t fully like some of the MCs anymore, there’s an amazing cast of secondary (by the 6th books they’re not even secondary anymore) characters. It’s a world I grew really attached to and it will always have a special place in my heart.

The Raven Cycle

trc

Reading The Raven Cycle has been one of the best things that’s happened to my last year. When I read, I care about characters much much much more than about the plot, and this series is ALL about characters and their individual development, as well as the way their relationships develop. Plus, I found the writing really resonated with me, and I’m planning to reread as soon as I can.

Thanks for reading!

Have you read these series? What are your favorite fantasy or scifi books?

3 thoughts on “#T5W: Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

  1. Man the only one of these I’ve read is Throne of Glass. I need to get with the program!!! I especially want to read the Raven Cycle and A Darker Shade of Magic series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

