Home » general bookish things » #T5W: Books That Would Make Good Video Games

#T5W: Books That Would Make Good Video Games

Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started and I discovered through the lovely Samantha‘s videos. If you’re interested you can join the goodreads group to get the topics for each week.

This week’s topic:

April 12th: Books That Would Make Good Video Games
–Since I’ve been in video game hell (in a good way) for the past year, this topic is timely. Remember, not all video games are action games! The Sims has proven that 🙂

love this topic! I haven’t played much lately but I love video games and I totally see how certain books would work really well in that format. Even if it’s not even Wednesday here anymore (I’ve had a busy day and didn’t manage to write or pre-post this) I needed to put this out here.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

23395680

Ever since the first few pages of Illuminae I thought it reminded me of some video game setting, specifically some kind of mashup between Portal 2 and Soma.

somacatherine

Soma was way too scary for me to play lmao

1392624816-2

Portal 2 started me to video games tbh

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

19385917

While reading about this at some point I realized I was imagining the settings as Skyrim locations, and the world in this book is so full of characters and places that I wouldn’t have trouble seeing it as a similar video game.

special-edition-comparison-screenshot-3

I lost years of my life playing Skyrim and I regret nothing

The Grisha trilogy

I tried to imagine this as a computer game but I couldn’t see it. Then I thought of my beloved Nintendo DS games and I thought that this would look great in such a graphic. I’m thinking something like Radiant Historia.

radianthistoria_3a

I loooved this, it’s such a unique concept for a video game (but I didn’t like the battle system too much – mainly because I suck and I found it a bit too difficult)

Virals by Kathy Reichs

7800188

I’m trying to come up with some game whose graphics/gameplay could work for Virals but I can’t come up with anything right now. Maybe some point and click like The Walking Dead? I don’t know to be honest, but I do think it would work out great in some kind of video game.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

trc

I was having a hard time trying to find a fifth book/series for this post, so instead I started thinking in reverse (I thought of a game first, and tried to see if any book came to mind that might work similarly), and since Persona 5 just came out it was the first game I thought about, and I started thinking that TRC also has a group of high school students that have to do with some paranormal stuff. And the cards??? Wow. It fits so well.

p4characters

I only played Persona 4 and I loved it (never finished it though  ;_;)

persona-5-story-trailer-playstation-experience-gamesoul

I reeaaaally want to play Persona 5 (I’ll have to take advantage of my BF’s new PS4 :3)

 

2 thoughts on “#T5W: Books That Would Make Good Video Games

Leave a Reply

