Home » LGBTQI+ lit » #T5W: Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads

#T5W: Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads

A quick note before we get into this post: I realize I haven’t written a review here in a bit! My last posts have all been Top Five Wednesdays and I feel so bad about it. The thing is, I guess I’m in a bit of a reading slump at the moment, so I don’t really have new things to review. I’ve been reading some mangas and stuff, but it’s nothing I’d be able to write a good review about, not for the blog at least. I still review everything I read on GR even if it’s just a few lines of text, but I want to keep my blog as a place where I post well-written reviews, so I won’t post one until I can provide some good content. Hopefully I’ll manage to get out of this weird slump and catch up with the latest releases and the ARCs I was sent! I still find T5W to be an interesting thing to do so I hope it doesn’t bother anyone that that’s the only type of post I’m putting out.


Top Five Wednesday is a book meme that Lainey started and I discovered through the lovely Samantha‘s videos. If you’re interested you can join the goodreads group to get the topics for each week.

This week’s topic:

April 19th: Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads
–Talk about your favorite books that feature LGBTQ+ characters or are by LGBTQ+ authors.

I tried to combine both things and only mention LGBTQ+ books by LGBTQ+ authors. I’ll try to point out the different labels that can be applied to characters within each book in case someone is interested in a specific kind of representation. (There are more books that I love but I’m not sure if the authors are in the LGBTQ+ community themselves.)

  • The Captive Prince series by C.S. Pacat: although labels aren’t used in this world, the MCs are respectively bisexual and gay. Plus, this is a homonormative world.
  • Peter Darling by Austin Chant: the main character, Peter, is a trans man and has a relationship with another man (though we don’t know if Peter is gay or bi or pan).
  • The Shades of Magic series by V.E. Schwab: there are many main characters, and within the book (although, here too, no labels are used), one character is canonically bisexual and another one is probably bisexual (either that or gay or pan). However, the author herself has stated that no character (well except one minor one lol) is straight. Plus, one of the main characters is gender fluid (again, no labels are used within the world in this sense either, but the author confirmed this).
  • All for the Game by Nora Sakavic: two characters (male) are gay, one character (the main one) is demisexual (portrayed later in a relationship with another man).
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (I actually am not 100% sure if she’s part of the LGBTQ+ community; my brain tells me I’ve read somewhere that she is but I don’t know): one character is canonically gay, another one is bisexual. Another one (a girl) is bisexual (confirmed by the author but not shown within canon).
7 thoughts on “#T5W: Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads

  1. YESSSSS to Captive Prince! That trilogy is my everything ❤ And I really liked Peter Darling, as well! I haven't read the other books on the list but they're all om my TBR and I'm currently reading ADSOM 😀 I'm so excited to learn more about the characters and fall in love with them. I don't do these posts but this one would have been fun and painful because choosing between babies is DIFFICULT.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The characters in ADSOM (counting the whole trilogy since my absolute favorite only shows up in book 2) are INCREDIBLE, I can’t wait for you to meet them/learn more about them! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

