Home » monthly wrap-up » April Wrap-Up

April Wrap-Up

Late as always because I forgot that April has 30 days it’s not true but it seems like a good excuse shhhhh

So this is what I read this month:

april

Minus The Summer Palace because I’ve actually re-read it today (May 1st).

Here’s a quick recap of the most interesting stuff with links to my goodreads reviews (I haven’t posted any review on my blog this month because I didn’t feel like any of them were good enough to put here):

  • Honestly BenI liked it a bit more than book 1 in the duology. I also think it continues an interesting dialogue about labels and how they define or (or not).
  • What Lies at the EndI was really disappointed by this. It’s not that it’s bad, but everyone was talking about it like it was the next best thing after sliced bread and it just wasn’t (for me at least)
  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the GalaxyI wish I had enjoyed this a lot more than I did
  • Lover Boy: This was so unexpectedly good! Definitely recommend if you’re into mangas/manhwas
  • Gemina: YES I finally read this! I still like Illuminae better but it was still an amazing read and it deserves a full 5 stars
  • Flame in the MistI actually finished it today (May 1st) but I’m counting it in my April wrap-up because I read most of it in April anyway. I will have a full review up both on GR and on the blog, but I ended up being pretty disappointed

I didn’t DNF any book this month but it still was a weird and almost disappointing reading month. I was in a weird slump basically, so I had to postpone reading a lot of things that I wanted to read just because I was afraid I wouldn’t enjoy them in this mood. (However, I did read A TON of fan fiction and that was most days all I wanted to read instead of real books. Not that I’m complaining since I think some fanfics are even better than some published books.)

Blogging-wise, April was a total failure. I’m still trying to find some balance and I clearly am not there. My main issue is that even though I review everything on GR I still don’t feel like all of my reviews are good/long/structured enough to go well on my blog, so I just leave them on GR. If anyone has any advice on this (besides get off your a** and write good reviews already) please let me know ♥

5 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up

  1. It sucks that you’ve had a disappointing reading month. At least you enjoyed Gemina though!
    I think in terms of advice, all I’d say is just to go for it, and publish the reviews on your blog even if you’re not sure they’re good enough – people might really like them! Maybe you could do them as mini-reviews if they’re quite short (which can be quite nice for readers just looking for a quick recommendation/insight into a book). Or maybe you could try and make them longer by having a list of points to discuss (plot, characters, style etc.) (although maybe you already do this), and see if you can find more to say.
    I don’t know if this will help you at all, but either way, I hope you get out of your reading/blogging slump soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re right, I see bloggers post mini reviews sometimes and I might start doing that (especially for contemporary books because I never feel like I have much to say about them lol). Thank you so much for your comment ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know what you mean, sometimes I really have to dig deep to think of more to say. It’s why some of my reviews just end up as a couple of hundred words in my monthly round-up.
        Hopefully it helped!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

