Home » general bookish things » Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag

Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag

I was tagged by Emma @ A Dreamer’s Library quite some time ago and I’m finally getting around to write this! Thank you so much!

The Rules:

  1. Randomly choose 3 books (Tip: use the ‘sort>random’ option on your Goodreads’ Read shelf)
  2. For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread (a lot like Kiss, Marry, Kill)
  3. Repeat until you completed three rounds (or six)

Round 1

Burn: This is a no-brainer, I’d burn Down: Portal by Glenn Cooper. I can’t remember much, except that while the idea was cool, the execution sucked. I didn’t even like book one in the series too much, although it had some interesting elements, but this sequel is so stupid it’s not even worth “rewriting”.
Rewrite: I wouldn’t say I’d want to rewrite all of it, but there are some parts of ACOMAF I’d definitely change. If you’ve read my review of ACOWAR, you’ve see some of the problems I had with it, and while I didn’t reread ACOMAF recently (I originally gave it five stars when I read it last year, but my tastes have changed so much) I’m willing to bet that if I reread it now I’d find the same problems I had with ACOWAR, especially when it comes to the “steamy” parts *cringes because she didn’t find them steamy at all*
Reread: As if I need an excuse to reread one of my favorite series of all time 😀 Well, it’s obvious I would and will reread The King’s Men by Nora Sakavic (I in fact have reread the whole trilogy in January/February this year). I really miss the Foxes of PSU and I can’t wait for the pain that my third reread will bring (why are we readers like this?)

Round 2

Burn: I’m sorry but I didn’t like Flame in the Mist and among these books it’s the one I wouldn’t mind burning.
Rewrite: I loved the Girl in a Box series when I read it three years ago. I can’t remember much about it except that it’s really, really long but I binge-read it in just a little bit over a month. I wasn’t as much of a critical reader back then as I am now but I’d say if I read it now I’d find some things in the writing that I’d like to change. I even gave Untouched four stars instead of the five I gave every other book in the series so I probably must have found something I wanted to change.
Reread: I’ve been meaning to reread the Gli Invisibili series for so long! It was one of my favorites (together with Harry Potter) when I was a kid, and I remember Gli Invisibili e la Strega di Dark Falls was my favorite one. I was obviously still a kid so maybe I’d find it awful now, but I’d still read it because I like feeling nostalgic of good things. The only reason I haven’t done it yet is because I can’t for the life of my find book one (it must be somewhere in my house, unless I lent it to someone back in school and forgot and never got it back…I really don’t know). It’s too bad the series is only in Italian because I never find anyone who has read it!

Round 3

Burn: I’m probably going to readers hell for this but I’d burn Pride and Prejudice PLEASEDONTKILLME! I read it a couple of years ago and I liked certain parts but it was so boring and difficult to read (please remember that English isn’t my first language so I had some issues with this because it was written so long ago). Out of the three books above it’s the one that has given me the least in terms of enjoyment, so it’s a burn. *watches followers count drop while sad music plays*
Rewrite: Despite all the flaws I might find now, the Throne of Glass series has given me so much that I would never hate it no matter what. I’d rewrite the first book to fix the character problems (Celeana being described as a ruthless, bloodthirsty assassin…while we’re being shown that she, in fact, isn’t ruthless OR bloodthirsty).
Reread: I definitely would and will reread The Raven King (and the whole series) because it has some of the best characters I’ve ever read about (Adam and Ronan are character goals tbh)

This was really fun to do! I don’t really know who has done this tag already so I tag anyone who wants to do it!

8 thoughts on “Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag

  1. I really enjoyed your review of ACOWAR, Silvia (I forgot to comment but I have read it XD). I’m not at all tempted to pick it up, to be honest. I also originally quite liked ACOMAF (I gave it three stars), but after I thought more about it, I realized that while it was a nice quick read (undeniably – it was written to be a pageturner), the writing was really bad and it was chock-full of cringeworthy scenes (the sex scenes, among others). So I can understand where you’re coming from. As for Pride and Prejudice, it is one of my favourite books, but I for one won’t be unfollowing you, so you can stay calm XD Different opinions are what makes bookish discussions so interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, that’s such a nice comment! I have to say I needed this after my ACOWAR hasn’t been…let’s say “welcomed” by some people! As I said, I haven’t reread ACOMAF and I’m glad I didn’t waste my time doing it because I’d probably find it terrible (even though it’s probably better than ACOWAR).
      As for Pride and Prejudice, I really based my decision based on what the single books/series have given me and not the intrinsic value of it. I’m sure that if I had read it a few years ago when all I read were classics I would have loved it, but as it was, I probably wasn’t really in the right mood and mindset for it 😀 thank you for respecting my opinion though! ♥

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag – Books In Her Eyes

Leave a Reply

