ARC review: Dangerous Remedy by Kat Dunn

I was sent this book as an advance copy by the publisher via NetGalley for reviewing purposes, but all opinions are my own. Camille, a revolutionary's daughter, leads a band of outcasts – a runaway girl, a deserter, an aristocrat in hiding. As the Battalion des Mortes they cheat death, saving those about to meet … Continue reading ARC review: Dangerous Remedy by Kat Dunn

ARC review: The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed

I was sent this book as an advance copy by the publisher via NetGalley for reviewing purposes, but all opinions are my own. Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel is a unflinching exploration of race, class, and violence as well as the importance of being true to yourself. Los … Continue reading ARC review: The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed

ARC review: The Extraordinaries by T.J. Klune

I was sent this book as an advance listening copy via libro.fm for reviewing purposes, but all opinions are my own. Some people are extraordinary. Some are just extra. TJ Klune's YA debut, The Extraordinaries, is a queer coming-of-age story about a fanboy with ADHD and the heroes he loves. Nick Bell? Not extraordinary. But being the … Continue reading ARC review: The Extraordinaries by T.J. Klune

ARC Review: The Mermaid, the Witch and the Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall // a f/nonbinary pirate fantasy, then why am I disappointed?

I was sent this book as an advance copy by the publisher via NetGalley for reviewing purposes, but all opinions are my own. A desperate orphan turned pirate and a rebellious imperial daughter find a connection on the high seas in a world divided by colonialism and threaded with magic. Aboard the pirate ship Dove, Flora … Continue reading ARC Review: The Mermaid, the Witch and the Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall // a f/nonbinary pirate fantasy, then why am I disappointed?

Audiobook review: Beauty Queens by Libba Bray // or: my new feminist favorite (even though it’s from 2011, basically a century ago)

The 50 contestants in the Miss Teen Dream pageant thought this was going to be a fun trip to the beach, where they could parade in their state-appropriate costumes and compete in front of the cameras. But sadly, their airplane had another idea, crashing on a desert island and leaving the survivors stranded with little … Continue reading Audiobook review: Beauty Queens by Libba Bray // or: my new feminist favorite (even though it’s from 2011, basically a century ago)

ARC Review: Crystal Caged (Air Awakens: Vortex Chronicles #5) by Elise Kova

I was sent this book as an advanced copy for reviewing purposes, but all opinions are my own. One way or another... she will be the end of the world. With powers that weren't supposed to be touched by mortal hands, Vi Solaris is determined to free herself and the world from the deadly vortex … Continue reading ARC Review: Crystal Caged (Air Awakens: Vortex Chronicles #5) by Elise Kova

ARC Review: The Electric Heir by Victoria Lee

I was sent this book as an advance copy by the publisher for reviewing purposes, but all opinions are my own. In the sequel to The Fever King, Noam Álvaro seeks to end tyranny before he becomes a tyrant himself. Six months after Noam Álvaro helped overthrow the despotic government of Carolinia, the Atlantians have gained … Continue reading ARC Review: The Electric Heir by Victoria Lee

ARC Review: Only Mostly Devastated by Sophie Gonzales // the queer Grease retelling that stole my heart

I was sent this book as an advance copy by the publisher for reviewing purposes, but all opinions are my own. SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA meets CLUELESS in this boy-meets-boy spin on Grease Summer love...gone so fast. Ollie and Will were meant to be a summer fling—casual, fun, and done. But when Ollie’s aunt's … Continue reading ARC Review: Only Mostly Devastated by Sophie Gonzales // the queer Grease retelling that stole my heart