Book Blogger Insider Tag

Thank you so much Laura for the tag! If you’re not following her yet definitely go check out her blog (it’s one of my favorites!)

Rules

1. Answer the questions below
2. Credit the creator Jamie @ALittleSliceofJamie
3. Tag at least 5 people
4. Have fun!


1. Where do you typically write your blog posts?

Usually at my desk but sometimes on the couch under a warm blanket (like right now!)

2. How long does it generally take you to write a book review?

It depends a lot on the book, whether I liked it or not, if it’s an ARC or a book I bought myself. Generally I tend to put more effort in a review if I liked the book and it was an ARC that not many other people have reviewed yet (as it was for my Ace of Shades review). Such a review takes me a long time because I will probably write down my thoughts in a messy way, then organize them better after a few hours, then polish it and post it the next day. The total amount of hours it takes me is probably 3-4? Which is a lot.
For other books I will try to do shorter reviews and just get to the main points, and those can take me around half an hour.

3. When did you start your book blog?

I started it in October 2016 and been blogging on and off ever since (well now I haven’t had a blog hiatus since the summer so yay!)

4. What is the worst thing about having a book blog in your opinion?

Is this a trick question? Okay okay I will admit that blogging isn’t always fun, it can create a lot of pressure (mostly it’s pressure you put on yourself). I’d say the worst feeling I’ve ever gotten was being on hiatus for a few months and wondering if this blog was yet another thing I’d left unfinished, but it turned out the hiatus was actually good and I came back with a lot of new ideas and more passionate about it than I ever was.

5. What is the best thing about having a book blog in your opinion?

I know I should say something about all the amazing people you meet through blogging, and that’s definitely one of the best things about blogging (especially when it comes to meeting them on other platforms like twitter because I feel like that’s where you see more of the person), but for me the best thing was finding my own voice and allowing myself to be heard.

6. What blog post have you had the most fun writing so far?

Off the top of my head I had a lot of fun writing my LGBTQ+ webcomic recs post!

7. What is your favourite type of blog post to write?

Without any doubt discussion posts. I need to be very passionate about the topic and I’ll typically spill tears and blood while writing them, and get a lot of condescending/patronizing comments afterwards, but damn if I don’t love writing them anyway.

8. When do you typically write?

It depends a lot but I find that I usually tend to write posts in the morning for some reason, but sometimes you’ll catch me writing something throughout the day.

9. Do you review every book you read?

That’s the goal (even if I have some RTCs from almost a year ago…oops). I don’t post every review on the blog but I try to always write something on my goodreads even if it’s just a few lines. Like I said in an earlier reply, I’m more likely to write something if the book is new and I loved it and had a lot of meaning to me, but if the book is already super well known I always kinda have this “it doesn’t really matter if I review it or not” attitude. Also sometimes I’m just not in the mood and I only want to read for fun without the pressure of having to write a review.

10. How do you write your book reviews? With a cup of coffee or tea? With Netflix? Cuddled with your fur baby?

I always have a cup of tea (or coffee, if I’m writing right after breakfast) while I’m reviewing. While I can’t write (as in, fiction-write) with music on, I love writing reviews with music. I usually just choose a Spotify playlist depending on my mood and/or the mood of the book I’m reviewing. I absolutely can’t review if there’s Netflix on??? Like how would I do that? I’m someone who can’t just passively watch something on TV while I do other stuff so if I’m watching a show on Netflix then I’m watching it lmao. Also, if I had a cat I’d totally write reviews with it next to me, but sadly I don’t have a cat yet 😦

11. When do you write your book reviews? Right after finishing the book? Two weeks after finishing the book?

This one also depends on a lot of factors, but lately I’ve learned to write down my messy thoughts almost right away in a word document and then go back and edit it and write a proper review. I just find it easier to fix my thoughts later than trying to remember every single thing I thought right after finishing, and if something doesn’t fit the review then I’ll just delete it or write it better.

12. How often do you post?

My current schedule is three posts a week, but both in January and in February I went a little overboard and sometimes posted four times a week, mostly because I had more planned and somewhat time-sensitive posts than I had days in my schedule. I feel like I’m heading towards a little blogging slump and I’m also not reading as much as I’d like to, but I also have a lot of ideas and a few projects in store so I hope I’ll manage to keep up my three times a week schedule.

divider-2461548_960_720

I tag:

@InsideMyLibraryMind
Kate @ReadingThroughInfinity
Taiwo @StuffedShelves
Michaela @JourneyIntoBooks
Sionna @BooksInHerEyes
Marta @TheCursedBooks
and everyone else who feels like doing this! Also no pressure to do it if I’ve tagged you!

 

Posted in tag

2 thoughts on “Book Blogger Insider Tag

Chat with me!